Hanging from the Edge

Pat Morehead’s Elegy, new works by Sarah J. Ritch and John Elmquist, and music by Howard Sandroff, Elliott Carter  and Karheinz Stockhausen will be featured in a concert on Sunday, February 3, 2013 at 3PM at the University of Chicago under the sponsorship of the Renaissance Society, in Fulton Recital Hall, Goodspeed Hall 4th fl., 1010 E. 59th St.. Chicago. Admission is free.

The complete program:

Elliott Carter Figment IV for solo viola
John Elmquist Palaver & Palliative for English horn and piano (world premiere)
Patricia Morehead Elegy for viola and piano
Sarah J. Ritch Spiral Density for oboe and electronics (world premiere)
Howard Sandroff Tephillah for clarinet and computer controlled audio processors
Howard Sandroff Untitled #4  for steel sculpture and computer
Karlheinz Stockhausen In Freundschaft for solo clarinet

Performers include Alejandro Acierto, clarinet; Michael Hall, viola; Benjamin Sutherland, percussion; Patricia Morehead, oboe and English horn; and Philip Morehead, piano

A reception at the Renaissance Society museum will follow the concert.