Happy Birthday, Canada! A Concert of Music by Patricia Morehead

Celebrating the Music of Patricia Morehead
Monday, February 13th 630-8pm
Canadian Music Centre
20 St. Joseph Street, TORONTO
$20 Suggested Donation, in support of the CMC

You are invited to join Patricia Morehead and Friends for HAPPY BIRTHDAY, CANADA! a delightful, Canadian-inspired program featuring a wonderful selection of Morehead’s compositions for chamber ensemble, along with settings of works by Margaret Atwood, Boston poet John Shreffler, and her sons James and Ian Morehead.

The concert will be preceded by a Wine & Cheese Reception starting at 5:30 pm

“con amore for b.c.” – for Oboe d’Amore and String Quartet*
“It is Dangerous to Read Newspapers” – for Soprano and Piano, with poetry by Margaret Atwood
“Retrograde Variations” – for Violin, Clarinet and Piano
“The Edible Flute” – for Flute and Piano, inspired by the novel “The Edible Woman” (1969) by Margaret Atwood
“Triptych” – for Soprano and String Quartet, with poetry by James & Ian Morehead and Boston poet John Shreffler

Canadian composer and oboist Patricia Morehead has created a body of work of exceptional richness and breadth. Spanning the repertory from solo works to works for orchestra and opera. Her music employs a palette of sounds and structures that entice the ear and seduce the mind.

NOTE: All works in this evening’s performance will be World or Canadian Premieres, excepting “Retrograde Variations”.

The 6ix Quartet:
Sebastian Sallans, violin
Hovnaten Garabedian, violin
Erika Neilson, cello
Laurence Schaufele, viola
Trio Bravo:
Terry Storr, clarinet
Daniel Kushner, violin
Philip Morehead, piano
Andrea Núñez, soprano
Jamie Thompson, flute
Patricia Morehead, oboe d’amore
Todd Yaniw, piano
Philip Morehead, piano/conductor

* Introducing The 6ix Quartet, led by violinist Sebastian Sallans

Happy Birthday, Canada! will be livestreamed; for more information about the CMC and Patricia Morehead, please see below or visit: www.musiccentre.ca